lib_research_bar.gif (5133 bytes)

Public Speaking Online Resources

Includes: Online Resources | Speech Archives | Articles

Communication Resources  

Speaking Resources

Comprehensive
Online Journals Organizations
Rhetoric
Logic
Mass Media
Speech
Web Comm
Tech Comm

-------------------
Communication Resources Home

  WEB-SLS The European Student Journal of Language and Speech   Online Academic Journal

Basic Public Speaking, The Roadmap to Confident Communications A variety of resources, including how to organize a speech, how to fight nerves, how to gauge the audience, and how to evaluate a speech.

Great American Speeches Sponsored by PBS, this site includes these sections: Speech Archives (see below), American History Challenge, PopUp Trivia, Wordsmith Challenge, Could you be a Politician? Critics' Corner, and Ideas for Teachers.

Virtual Presentation Assistant   Background information for preparing and presenting a speech, links to additional sites.

The Basic Communication Course Homepage - a site for public speaking instructors with many links and tips.

Inc.com "Improve your Communication Skills"   Inc. Magazine edition devoted to improving communication skills.

National Speakers Association Knowledge Bank   NSA resources page.

Overviews A speech writing resource site. Includes corporate/government speech archive sites and speeches 

AmericanRhetoric.com

Toastmasters Speech Directory and Treasury of Resources

Toastmasters International

International Speech Communication Association

 
Online Resources | Speech Archives | Articles



Archives  

Speech Archives Sites

    Great American Speeches: Speech Archives Sponsored by PBS, this site includes not only the speech but also its historical context and, where possible, audio and video clips. The earliest speech included is by Booker T. Washington in 1881.

Online Speech Bank   An index to 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons,lectures, and more.

History Channel's Great Speeches Dozens of great speeches on the speech archive page.

Top 100 American Speeches of the 20th Century This list unfortunately does not include the texts of the speeches, but enough information is given that a good librarian could help you find them.

Online Resources | Speech Archives | Articles



Articles  

Articles on Public Speaking

    How to Give a Talk: Changing the Culture of Academic Public Speaking   Tips on how to give an academic presentation ... from the folks at Stanford.

Before You Have that Talk.   FAST COMPANY June/July 1997, issue 9, page 168.

When Your Presentation Crashes... Who You Gonna Call?   FAST COMPANY Feb/March 1997, issue 7, page 130.

Presenting Solutions - The art of communicating effectively - Good advice on presentations and tips for speaking effectively.

Toastmasters International 10 tips for successful public speaking.

 
Online Resources | Speech Archives | Articles

Communication Resources:
Comprehensive | Online Journals | Organizations | Rhetoric | Logic | Mass Media | Speech | Web Comm | Tech Comm